Review - Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day by Dominique Valente

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day by Dominique Valente
Published by: Harper Collins Children's Books
Released: 2nd May 2019
Page Count: 288 Pages
Edition: Hardback
Rating: 5/5 

I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for readers aged 8–12, perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell.

Willow Moss, the youngest and least powerful sister in a family of witches, has a magical ability for finding lost things – like keys, or socks, or wooden teeth. Her magic might be useful, but it’s not exactly exciting . . . Until, that is, the most powerful witch in the whole of Starfell turns up at her door needing Willow’s help.

A whole day – last Tuesday to be precise – has gone missing. And the repercussions could be devastating. Can Willow find the day to save the day?

Thoughts

Willow Moss, the youngest in a family of witches has the power to find lost things. If you've lost something, Willow will find it. This power might be useful, but it's not exciting. That is until the most feared witch in Starfell shows up at Willow's door asking for her help. Last Tuesday has gone missing and the consequences could be severe. Willow needs to muster up all her courage to find the missing day and save Starfell.

This was such a cute, heartwarming, magical read that had me laughing and smiling throughout. The originality in this amazing work of MG fiction shone through and I don't know how anyone could not find appeal in this mesmerising tale. I found myself speeding through it as I literally could not put it down and there were times when I had to force myself to stop reading as I needed to do something else!

The world building in Starfell was just, well, incredible! I loved learning the in's and out's of this new world and all the little details we got just added to the overall story arc. Being able to find out the history of the world and how its magic works was just a joy to read about. I also enjoyed meeting the inhabitants of Starfell as Willow travelled throughout the land. The worldbuilding despite being very detailed wasn't complicated to follow, which I feel would make the story very appealing for the MG market. 

The plot, despite being quite simple did keep me engaged and wanting to read on and on, as stated earlier. I loved the mystery of trying to find the missing Tuesday. As soon as I read that, I was intrigued to find out why last Tuesday had gone missing and who exactly stole it. Usually with MG mysteries I tend to solve it way before it is revealed but with Starfell this wasn't the case. I can honestly say I was generally shocked when things were slowly revealed. 

Willow was such a great heroine. Despite her magic not being the most exciting she learnt to use it to the best of her ability and in the end started to love it. She was kind, courageous and a fierce friend. I feel that a lot of young  girls will start to look up to her as a strong female character. Moving on from Willow, there were many supporting characters that I just adored. Feathering the cloud dragon, Calamity the troll and Nolan Sometimes were amazing, but, my favourite was Oswin, Willow's pet monster. He was just brilliant and was the comedic genius throughout the whole book. Most of the times I laughed was when Oswin was present. He was the perfect, witty, hilarious sidekick that all great heroines need.

Starfell was a perfect, enchanting read that had me engaged from the very beginning. Everything about it was simply stunning and I know for certain that I will be recommending it non stop to children and adults alike. It can be said that I will be impatiently waiting to see what the author writes next.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.