Review: The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge (Blogtober Day 18)

09:00

39300155The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge
Published by: Hot Key Books
Released: 27th September 2018 (Kindle) & 10th January 2019 (Paperback)
Page Count: 180 Pages
Edition: Kindle ARC
Rating: 4.5/5 

Thank you to the publisher for sending me this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect.

Thoughts

Martha can tell things about a person by touching their clothes, it's as if their emotions and memories have been sucked into the material. This ability all started the day she fell from the tree in her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye. Determined to make sense of this strange power she sets off to visit her grandma - only to discover she is dead, a mysterious boy is in the cabin and a frightening creature is on the loose. As terror starts to creep in Martha must figure out how to stop something extremely terrifying from happening. 

The Twisted Tree first caught my attention when I saw the cover - I mean how gorgeous is it! And then when I found out what it was about I knew straight away I had to read it. It sounded like the perfect read for a cold, autumn night and thats mainly when I read it. I snuggled up under my bed covers and got myself ready to go on this adventure.

Firstly, let me just say that the descriptions within The Twisted Tree are outstanding! The writing style is so atmospheric and that's perfect for a book of a creepy disposition. I felt like I was really there in Norway, in the cabin with Martha and experiencing everything she did. Everything was so vivid and it just made the whole reading experience 100 times better for me.

I don't know much about Nordic mythology but I loved the little aspects of it that were brought into this story. It was really intriguing to learn about something whilst I was reading. The way the mythology was intertwined with the story was so unique and certainly makes the book stand out from others out there. Come the end of the book I found myself wanting to know more about Nordic mythology and it's origins.

The plot itself had lots of twists and turns that left me guessing more than once. It is tense and had me on the edge of my seat many times. The pacing was also perfect for the type of story that was being told. This, in turn, made me want to carry on reading and not put the book down - when a book does this to me you know it's a good one. Also, the climax of the story is thrilling and certainly didn't disappoint. In my opinion it ended the way I wanted it too, which was a great surprise.

Martha, I felt, was a great heroine. Her fear and curiosity throughout felt so real and despite her being brave she knew her own faults. With all this in hand, it made her a very believable character that people could relate to. Stig, the mysterious boy in the cabin, was also a great character! At first I wasn't sure about him and I thought he was going to end up being an antagonist, this thought ended up being wrong! He was also a very real character, his pain at loosing people he loved was so believable and it got me choked up at times. His relationship with Martha was so touching and I was rooting for them from the beginning.

The Twisted Tree was an outstanding, atmospheric read perfect for the autumnal months. It was creepy, thrilling and terrifying all in one and I loved that. I for one, cannot wait to read what Rachel Burge writes next.


You Might Also Like

0 comments