March Wrap Up

08:49


So, March is over! Days are becoming longer and hopefully the weather will be getting warmer any day now. I am very much looking forward to seeing what April brings.

March was a weird month for reading. I hit a slump in the middle of the month and I was worried I wouldn't read as many books as I wanted to. This thought was completely wrong, mind you and I did finally drag myself out of it. 

I read a few great books this month and I received some beautiful ones too. Anyway, let's get on with this wrap up.

March Reads

  

Big Bones was a great read about body image, confidence and finding yourself. It gave a great insight into loving yourself, looking out for family and friends and finding out what really matters. It brought to life body positivity in a unique way and I loved how each chapter had a food theme. Check out my review

Children of Blood and Bone - where do I start!? This book was just INCREDIBLE! And I will go as far as to say it's the best YA fantasy I have read in a few years. The world building is stunning, the characters are so well developed and the plot is enticing and draws you in. I could talk about this book all day but as I don't want this post to be pages long, please do go read my review for more. 

  

I hadn't read much Contemporary YA over the past few months so it was good to get stuck into Ready to Fall. This was an emotional, beautifully written read that has stuck with me since. It shows a really interesting take on grief and how to cope with it. It is perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. Here are my thoughts

I hardly ever DNF books but The Queen's Rising just wasn't for me. I got 40% in and just couldn't cope with it anymore. The characters didn't do anything interesting and the storyline just didn't engage me. It was a big disappointment as I do usually love YA Fantasy.

Clean..well this was a gritty, rough read all about addiction. It's certainly not an easy read and it does some with a lot of trigger warnings. Despite this I was hooked on it. It's a really thought provoking read and one that I will be rereading. My thoughts go into more depth.

Books received in March

   

   
The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart
White Rabbit Red Wolf by Tom Pollock (ARC)
The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
The Venetian Game by Philip Gwynne Jones
Days of Wonder by Keith Stuart (ARC)


Books I Want To Read in April

  

  

Twelve Nights by Andrew Zurcher
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
White Rabbit Red Wolf by Tom Pollock (ARC)
Catching Stars by Cayla Keenan (ARC)
The Smoke Thieves by Sally Green (ARC)
The Cruel Prince by Holly Black


That is it for my March Wrap Up. I hope you all have a fabulous April! Let's hope Spring finally gets here eh?

You Might Also Like

3 comments

  1. Looks like you had a fab month with some excellent books :D
    Cora | http://www.teapartyprincess.co.uk/

    ReplyDelete
  2. Children Of Blood And Bone is one I need in my life. :-) Happy April!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It’s my stand out read of 2018 so far! Happy April to you too and thanks for stopping by :)

      Delete