Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up on a Whim


Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks Top Ten Tuesday is all about 'Books I Picked Up on a Whim'. It is nice to read based on recommendations, but sometimes it is just good to pick up a book without knowing much about it.


1. If I Stay by Gayle Forman: I saw this book a few years back in my local Waterstones. The cover by itself intrigued me so I knew I had to pick it up.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: When I saw the title for this book I was instantly drawn to it and knew I had to pick it up. It has now become one of my favourite YA novels.

3. The Mortal Instruments City of Bones by Cassandra Clare: I love a good supernatural YA novel so when I spotted this on the Amazon Kindle store just over a year ago I instantly brought it. I absolutely loved it and although I haven't been able to read the next books in the series I am hoping to by the end of the year.

4. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan: I'd heard that this book was perfect for fans of Harry Potter and I was browsing on the kindle store when I came across it and thought why not?

5. It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini: I had no clue what this book was about when I brought it apart from what I read on the blurb. I'm so glad I purchased it though as it gave me an insight into mental health and the affect it can have on several people.

6. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick: I spotted this in The Works in a 3 for £5 deal and thought it looked interesting. It wasn't until I got home that I realised it'd been made into a film. No idea how I didn't know that.

7. Wonder by RJ Palacio: Wonder has become one of my favourite books of all time, but there was a time when I saw it in WHSmiths and just picked it up without knowing much about it. It was one of the best bookish choices I have made.

8. Girl Online by Zoe Sugg: I'd never watched a single youtube video by Zoe, but I was intrigued by the book. Yes, it wasn't the best book I'd ever read and I've since found out that it was partly Ghostwritten, but it introduced me to the world of books and youtubers.

9. West End Girls by Jenny Colgan: Just the title of the book made me realise that it was going to be about London, which happens to be my favourite city. I have since gone on to read many more books by the author.

10. The Drowning of Arthur Braxton by Caroline Smailes: I admit I'd briefly heard about this book before buying it but wasn't really sure on what it was about, so I brought it to see what the hype was all about. I loved it! I loved the dark fairytale elements and I am so happy a film is being made of it.

8 comments:

  1. Everyone keeps telling me to read Wonder - really need to find out what all the fuss is about!

    My TTT: http://whenitdoes.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-read-on-whim.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wonder is honestly amazing! I won't give much away but it's a really heart warming and emotional read :)

      Delete
  2. Silver Linings Playbook is a great read! I also LOVED the movie! Great Top Ten!
    My TTT!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I preferred the book to the film, but it was still good all the same :)

      Delete
  3. You picked up some awesome books on a whim. I completely forgot about If I Stay. I bought that on a whim years ago, it was on sale for a £1 at my local supermarket. I read it in one sitting and absolutely loved it, I'd never even heard of it before. Great list :) You can check out my post here.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved it! I picked my copy up in a 3 for £5 deal in a local bookstore and I'm so glad I did! It also introduced me to Gayle Forman as an author which is always a good thing :)

      Delete
  4. I love Percy Jackson! Hope you enjoy it!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/17/top-ten-tuesday-57/

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great list - so many amazing books you picked up on a whim! I also kind of picked up Wonder on a whim, and I also loved it. Also still need to The Silver Linings Playbook :)
    Heres my TTT

    ReplyDelete