Saturday, 14 May 2016

Stacking the Shelves #1


Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews which I shall be taking part in every Saturday from this week onwards. Stacking the Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, be it physical or digital. This means you can include books you buy in a shop or online, books you borrow from friends, library books, ARC's, gifts and E-Books. 

I haven't actually brought any books this week (shameful I know!) but I have received a few ARC's which of course I shall be adding to my shelves. Most of these are E-books but one is physical. Yay!

Physical ARC

Second Lives by Scott K Andrews

It began when three people from three different moments in history discovered that they could travel through time when they clasped hands. But the mysteries surrounding them have only deepened.
There are risks to tampering with established events... timelines become snarled, histories become tangled... and one false move could destroy time itself!
Jana, Kaz and Dora have escaped from their mysterious enemy, Quil, wounded and scared. Taking refuge in a place outside of time, they devise a plan to change the past, altering Quil's life so that she never meets them.

From the streets of Beirut in 2010 to the domed cities of Mars in 2155 and beyond, the three teenagers fight for their future, and that of all humanity, by trying to rewrite the history of the person who has sworn to destroy them.
What could be more complicated - and important - than trying to save the world? As their feelings for each other grow stronger, though, Jana, Kaz and Dora find themselves at the centre of a different kind of battle. And when it comes to matters of the heart, there can be no real victors.

Digital ARC's

Wrecked by Maria Padian

Everyone has a different version of what happened that night at MacCallum College. Haley was already in bed when her roommate, Jenny, arrived home shellshocked from the wild Conundrum House party. Richard heard his housemate Jordan brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with. When Jenny accuses Jordan of rape, Haley and Richard find themselves pushed onto opposite sides of the school's investigation. But conflicting interests fueling conflicting versions of the story may make bringing the truth to light nearly impossible—especially when reputations, relationships, and whole futures are riding on the verdict.

Maria Padian offers a kaleidoscopic view of a sexual assault on a college campus. Wrecked will leave readers thinking about how memory and identity, what's at stake and who sits in judgment shape what we all decide to believe about the truth
.


One Less Problem Without You by Beth Harbison

To Lisa Thomas, majoring in business administration seemed like a practical and stable life path...until she tried to find a job after graduation. Desperate, Lisa finds herself working as the office/business manager for M Street Apothecary, a metaphysical store selling cards, crystals, potions, candles, and hope. When Lisa falls head over heels in love with the owner's very married trust fund manager who she works closely with, she'll need nothing short of magic to help her fall out of love.
An aspiring jewellery designer, Diana Tiesman has been suffering through a difficult relationship with a charismatic man who just can't be faithful. But no matter how many times he lets her down, Diana can't get over him. So when an old friend calls her with the offer of under-the-table pay in exchange for making jewellery to sell at M Street Apothecary, it's the perfect opportunity to get away and get over him. Suddenly, Diana finds herself living in a group house and living on the cheap in one of the most expensive cities in the world, as she must decide whether she'd rather be lonely alone than lonely in love.

Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield
Stand By Me meets We Were Liars - a heartbreaking and stunning breakout YA novel from the author of Seed
June's life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one - and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She's trapped like a butterfly in a net.
But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom . . . but at what price?
Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of James Dawson, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan and Louise O'Neill.


3 comments:

  1. Haven't heard of any of these. I hope you enjoy them. STS

    ReplyDelete
  2. Nice haul. I got the Beth Harbison book as well - I haven't read her in so long. Hope you enjoy!
    Bambi's StS and Recap

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't read her before but I can't wait too! I love discovering new authors!

      Delete