Sunday, 12 March 2017

Review: The Kicking the Bucket List by Cathy Hopkins

The Kicking the Bucket List by Cathy Hopkins
Published by HarperCollins UK
Released 9th March 2017
296 Pages
E-Book

Thank you to the publisher for sending me this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee; sensitive and big-hearted; Rose uptight and controlled and Fleur the reckless free spirit.

At the reading of their mother’s will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother’s ‘bucket list’.

But one year doesn’t seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris’ bucket list was about so much more than money…

Friday, 3 March 2017

March TBR

Happy March! I am already shocked at how fast this year is going already. So, here is my March TBR list. I hope I can read them all. Fingers crossed!

Kicking the Bucket List by Cathy Hopkins

Three sisters. Their mother’s dying wish. 

One last chance to be a family…

The stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French. 

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee; sensitive and big-hearted; Rose uptight and controlled and Fleur the reckless free spirit.

At the reading of their mother’s will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with very tricky strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother’s ‘bucket list’. But one year doesn’t seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. 

Can they grow up for once and see that Iris’s bucket list was about so much more than money…

Thursday, 2 March 2017

Review: The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce

The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce
Published by HQ Digital
Released 8th February 2017
238 Pages
E-Book

Thank you to the publisher for sending me this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

From fairy cakes to first dates!
Maddie Lamington’s dreams are crumbling around her. If she doesn’t come up with a plan to save her little teashop on Sweet Street soon, it might be too late…
So when she sees how the perfect apple crumble brings together her lonely father and faithful customer Birdie, inspiration strikes: she’ll set up a dating night involving all her sweetest bakes.
Luckily, seriously gorgeous Caleb is on hand to help sprinkle a little magic – and a lot of sugar! Could one night of scrumptious first dates fix Maddie’s heartbreak and save her beloved teashop, too?

Monday, 27 February 2017

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? 27th February


Hosted by The Book DateIt's Monday! What Are You Reading? Is a weekly meme where you share what you have recently read, what you are currently reading and what is up next on your TBR list. Few good books on the list this week!

Sunday, 26 February 2017

Sunday Post: 26th February


Hosted by The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. Sunday post is a meme where you look back on the week. It's a place to look back on whats happened to your personally, books you've read, books you've received and whats been on your blog. Enjoy!

Saturday, 25 February 2017

Review: The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion
Published by Penguin
Released 9th February 2017
398 Pages
E-book

Thank you to the publisher for sending me this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Can you define your life by a single song?
Adam Sharp - former pianist in a hip Melbourne bar, now a respectable IT consultant in Norwich - can. And it's 'You're Going to Lose that Girl' . . . 
On the cusp of fifty and a happy introvert, Adam is content. He's the music expert at his local pub-quiz and he and his partner Claire rumble along. Life may not be rock n' roll, but neither is it easy listening. Yet something has always felt off-key. 
And that's his nostalgia for what might have been, his blazing affair - more than twenty years ago, on the other side of the world - with Angelina Brown, a smart and sexy, strong-willed actress who taught him for the first time, as he played piano and she sang, what it meant to find - and then lose - love. How different might his life be if he hadn't let her walk away?
Then, out of nowhere, Angelina gets in touch. Adam has sung about second chances, but does he have the courage to believe in them?

Tuesday, 21 February 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would


Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic is all about books we have like more or less than we thought we would. I am going to split my list in two. Five books that I liked more and five books that I liked less. Always good to have variety eh?